Past Meeting

At our public meeting on Sunday, September 18, 2011 the featured presentation was:

Adelaide Cilley Painting of Octagonal Schoolhouse

Diamond Rock Octagonal Schoolhouse

by Susanna Baum

The Diamond Rock Octagonal Schoolhouse, located on the corner of Diamond Rock and Yellow Springs Roads, is an iconic historical landmark in our community. Built in 1818 by local residents who realized the advantages of education for their children, and who contributed labor and money to build this one room schoolhouse, the site has continued to provide a living history for visitors. The schoolhouse closed in 1864 and quickly fell into disrepair. In 1909 a group of former pupils collected funds and completed renovations to the structure. Their work continues today through the Diamond Rock Schoolhouse Preservation Association.

Susanna Baum, a resident of Diamond Rock Hill, has volunteered at the schoolhouse for almost twenty-eight years, and developed a profound interest in the Schoolhouse and its history. She joined us in September for the first meeting after our summer recess to tell the story of the school, and share early photographs and unique artifacts.

After her presentation at the Easttown Library, Mrs. Baum acted as docent in providing a tour at the schoolhouse for those interested.


Page last updated: 2011-09-22 at 11:40 EDT
Copyright © 2006-2011 Tredyffrin Easttown Historical Society. All rights reserved.
Permission is given to make copies for personal use only.
All other uses require written permission of the Tredyffrin Easttown Historical Society.