Upcoming Meeting

On Sunday, June 12, 2016 at 2 pm all current Society members were invited
to attend our Annual Members Excursion to the Old Roberts School.

Old Roberts School, 2011-10-31. Photo courtesy of Vytas Masalaitis

Old Roberts School

The 2016 Annual Members Excursion took us to the Old Roberts School in Wayne. We were joined by members of the King of Prussia Historical Society and the Radnor Historical Society in the old schoolhouse for an informative presentation by Michael Morrison on the history of the school and grounds. Following his talk, the group gathered for conversation and refreshments, including delicious tea sandwiches and seasonal beverages, and intrepid visitors were encouraged to explore the grounds, particularly the trails of the adjacent 90-acre McKaig Nature Preserve.

2–4 pm, Sunday, 12 June 2016

Roberts Elementary School
889 Croton Road
Wayne, PA 19087

In 1848, Jonathan Roberts, farmer and U.S. Senator, built a school to educate the poor children from the mill workers' houses on Croton Road, and for the pupils from the Henderson, Hughes, and Roberts farms. A ten-acre site was set aside and the first school was built mostly from logs, lasting for 50 years. It was abandoned in 1917, and reverted under terms of its original deed to the Roberts estate. After that it remained abandoned and fell into decay. In 1957, the King of Prussia Historical Society initiated a fundraising effort to restore the old school. Today the school remains as a monument to historic preservation under the watchful eye and constant care of the Upper Merion Park and Historic Foundation.
(Courtesy of the King of Prussia Historical Society)


Page last updated: 2016-07-09 at 17:23 EDT
Copyright © 2006-2016 Tredyffrin Easttown Historical Society. All rights reserved.
Permission is given to make copies for personal use only.
All other uses require written permission of the Tredyffrin Easttown Historical Society.